A Cup of Coffee with Your Muse

by emmawriter

There are some days when your creative juices come flowing in a rush to the head and all the sudden your writing, your fingers flying faster than you believed possible, and all of the sudden you don’t care if it’s good because it’s coming, and you can edit later.

Your muse has come to visit.

She just wants to have a cup of coffee, to catch up like old friends do when they haven’t seen each other in a long time, and gab over your kitchen table like old friends. She’s worried that she came at the wrong time, you won’t be home, and when she sees you she smiles a wide smile and you do too, because she’s such a nice girl and it’s nice to see her, it really has been too long.

If I have any advice for you, it’s snatch her up. I don’t care if you were just heading out to go grocery shopping or if you need to take your children to school, do something to keep her around and WRITE, because if you don’t she’ll be gone when you find the time and you’ll be left again with the brain-dead feeling of writer’s block.

In a nutshell: when your creative juices start flowing, use them.

These wonderful, wonderful days come quickly in the beginning, you fill your days with brilliant prose. For me, the beginning is beautiful, it’s the middle that pauses me in my stride, and for me, you are faced–all of the sudden–with the fact that I have to WRITE. I have to write things I don’t like that I won’t like and that will linger in my mind, making my mouth curl at the bitterness of their words.

BUT THAT DOESN’T MATTER! Just get it done! Finish! You can edit anything and everything, and in the end, that’s where everything is made nice. Those pretty, flowing sentances authors have that make you green with envy? I bet you twenty bucks they were written in editing. Editing is where to take everything and make it ten-times better. To me, the first draft (and probably every draft after that) is just about pretending you know what you’re doing.

But to the real world.

I’m starting to, maybe, like pintrest. I know, gasp, right?

Also, I’ve been going back over one of my favorite blogs, One in a Million, which hasn’t been updated in some time, and have been going back over the last couple post. I’d forgotten some of the lovely tresures of photos, like this one, which totally represents writing:

I love this blog, because it had so much inspiration, but not the cheesy kind, even I hate that. But while serching this blog (stalking it more likely) I have come across a quote that I love but I had quite forgotten:

I’m in love with cities I’ve never been to and people I’ve never met.

This quote was a turning point for me in the writing of my first draft, becasue it caused me to realize that even if I’d never been there, it may be for the better because I could create that breathless wonder in a character abotu the city. Maybe, one day, I will go there and maybe I will be impressed, but if I’m not, I’ll always be able to look back on this draft and remind myself how beautiful the city is, in your heart.

The thing about being a writer is that we fake alot. We don’t know what it would feel like to watch someone die before our eyes, and so we imagine what it would be like and fake it, put down what we think it would be like and hope we’re close enough.

