NaNoWriMo

by emmawriter

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, hasn’t it. Oh, what I long to bring back of summer, all the time!

But, anyway, I suppose that now is a good of a time as any to tell you about NaNoWriMo. If you don’t know, NaNo is a month-long competition to write 50,000 words. Except it isn’t really a competition against anyone but yourself.

This year will be my first year participating and I am so pumped! I couldn’t have picked a better year either, we have a week for Thanksgiving vacation. A WEEK! Do you know how much writing I can get done in there?

From my approximant counting, I can get at least 215 pages in that month, at least.

I mean, wowza! 50,000 words is about 200 pages, so it’ll be interesting to see if I can (I mean, when) I will make it.

One of the first things that they suggest upon your joining of the site and the competition is to tell lots of people that you can, and will, complete the challenge. That way, when it begins to get hard and you start to think that you can’t, you are reminded of the impending doom of embarrassment, which is great as it is an excellent motivator.

It is exciting that it will be starting so soon, and the idea of getting so much done is a fabulous feeling, one I can’t wait to feel when I do finish.

 

 

Good luck to You!

